Service

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.  Romans 12:1, NKJV

Those who know me, know I rarely do anything halfway.  When I commit to do something, I stay in there, have a firm grip, similar to that of a bulldog holding on to a “catch”.  I even broke my ankle in a big way!

When I serve, for me, it’s not just about doing something all the way.  It’s so much more.  Paul said, “Present your bodies a living sacrifice…acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.”  My parents taught me to be polite.  When someone gives you something or does something for you, you say thank you.  God has given me eternal life through Jesus Christ.  He has forgiven me of my sins.  He has blessed me abundantly.  He’s done so much, He absolutely deserves much more than a ‘thank you, Lord’ – although that should be included.  Since he owns everything, what else can I offer Him besides the gifts and talents and abilities He has given me?  My reasonable service, is to serve whole-heartedly.  My reasonable service, the least I can do, is give myself back to Him (He already owns me!).  My reasonable service is to present myself as a living sacrifice.  He is the Creator.  What else can you give Him truly, but yourself?

Leave a Reply

