Chuckwagon Casserole – High and Low

In my house, there are two of us – myself and my very athletic teenage son.  He consumes quite a bit of food, because he needs it as a top cross country runner and top long distance runner.

I firmly believe one way I can honor God is by taking care of my home – to include making sure my son has a great nutritious meal.  One of his favorite meals is chuckwagon casserole.  This recipe is so easy to put together and very filling.  I appreciate it is a complete meal with good protein (we use either ground turkey or ground chicken), good carbs, and a bit of fat (we add a bit of olive oil).  This recipe is many places online, including here.

My tip to get chuckwagon casserole in the oven quick is to use the PictSweet frozen onion blend OR the PictSweet frozen tri-pepper blend.  Already chopped and good to add to the recipe.  It may not be the appropriate ratio, but it will be okay.  Also, while you are cooking the meat and veggies and adding the sauce, have a family member work on making the cornbread and adding the corn.  By the time you are finished with the meat mixture, everything can be added to the pan and into the oven.

I like providing a home cooked meal for my son.  He’s the first person I need to show hospitality to.  But, it’s over dinner, I have the opportunity to still connect with him.  A favorite conversation starter is “High/Low”.  When either of us says this, the other person shares their high for the day and the other person shares their low for the day.  Sometimes there is an elaboration, however, as my son is an older teen, I find many times there is not.  Either way, I have the chance to hear what is going on with him and have things I can pray about for him.

Purposeful parenting is more than “do this, do that”.  It’s about looking at the whole child and making sure they are growing properly – physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually.  Parenting is not for the faint of heart!

Leave a Reply

